Buchanan, Bibler, Gabor & Meis - Attorneys at Law
Firm History  Representative Clients

Community Involvement

Asa Call
Ambrose Call
Ambrose Call
Archie Hutchison
Theodore C. Hutchison
Donald C. Hutchison

Russell Buchanan


Firm History 

The branches of the Buchanan, Bibler, Gabor & Meis Law Firm reach back to the very founding of Algona in 1854 by brothers Asa and Ambrose Call.  Asa Call was the first lawyer and first judge ever to serve this territory near the headwaters of the Des Moines River. His brother, Ambrose, was the grandfather of Donald C. and Theodore C. (“Tedo”) Hutchison, who joined their father Archie in his law practice in Algona in 1933 and 1941, respectively. Archie Hutchison, could not have known at the time he opened his practice here in 1896--no doubt appearing with some trepidation before the rugged Judge Call--that he was practicing before his future “uncle in-law.”

While the three Hutchison men built their thriving practice, Tedo served two terms in the Iowa House of Representatives (1941 – 1944).  The firm of Hutchison & Hutchison became Hutchison, Hutchison & Owens in 1948 when Paul Owens joined, later leaving the practice in 1953, eventually to become general counsel and manager of Western Buyers. A fourth partner, John Carroll, joined the firm in 1950 when it became known as Hutchison, Hutchison, Owens & Carroll. Carroll married Tedo's daughter, Sue Hutchison, and later moved to San Jose, California, where he practiced for many years. James H. Andreasen, destined to become one of the firm’s most illustrious members, joined them in 1958. 

Meanwhile, in 1948, Algona native, Russell G. Buchanan, was completing his education at the University of Iowa College of Law and embarking on his legal career with the prestigious Stinson, Mag & Fizzell law firm in Kansas City.  In 1955, he returned to his hometown to begin a solo practice. Russ would later become the President of the Iowa State Bar Association and received that organization’s highest honor, the Award of Merit. He was joined in 1959 by his first partner, Vern L. McClure. In 1968 the law firms of Hutchison & Andreasen and Buchanan & McClure merged to form Hutchison, Buchanan, Andreasen & McClure. 

James Andreasen was appointed to the Iowa District Court bench by Governor Ray in 1975 and to the Iowa Supreme Court by Governor Branstad in 1987, where he served until opting for senior status in 1998. Along the way, the members of the firm practiced with former partners Eric J. Thomsen, now of Stanley, Lande & Hunter,  P.C., Muscatine, Iowa, and Robert A. Dotson, now of Dotson Law Firm, Algona, Iowa.  In 2006, the firm acquired the practice of John Doran in Emmetsburg, who became an associate in the firm as he began easing into his retirement.  For more information about existing members, please see our attorney biographical pages. 

It is with great pride that the members of Buchanan, Bibler, Gabor & Meis carry on the tradition of providing quality comprehensive legal services to their clients in northern Iowa and around the state. We salute the members who built this firm and hope that our efforts honor their legacy.

Representative Clients

Many of the firm’s clients have grown along with the firm.  Some of our representative clients include the following: 

  • Ag Performance, LLC

  • Algona Marine and Sport, Inc.

  • Algona Medical Clinic I, LLC

  • Algona Medical Clinic II, LLC

  • Algona Municipal Utilities

  • AmberWave Communications, LLC

  • Computer Systems of Algona, Inc.

  • Bancroft Implement, Inc.

  • Carroll Implement, Inc.

  • Central Financial Group, L.C.

  • City of Bancroft

  • City of Lakota

  • City of Swea City

  • Corwith Red Power, Inc.

  • Exceptional Opportunities, Inc.

  • Farmers & Traders Savings Bank

  • Farm & Home Services, LLC

  • Farm Credit Services of America

  • Humboldt Red Power, Inc.

  • Iowa Trust and Savings Bank

  • Kerber Milling Co.

  • K. and H. Cooperative Oil Company

  • Manson Red Power, Inc.

  • Mason City Red Power, Inc.

  • Miller Lumber Co.

  • New Hampton Red Power, Inc.

  • North Iowa Lumber & Design, Inc.

  • Titonka Savings Bank

  • Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Co.

  • Sbemco International, Inc.

  • Security State Bank

  • Suidae Health and Production, L.C.

  • Welp, Inc.

  • Whittemore Truck & Trailer, Inc.

Community Involvement

Our firm is committed to support the work of nonprofit organizations that enhance our communities and beyond.  Our commitment is expressed in many ways, including financial support, donated legal services, and volunteer work in many capacities.  Some of the many nonprofit organizations we regularly support include the following: 

  • Algona Area Chamber of Commerce

  • Algona Community School Foundation

  • Algona Country Club

  • Algona Family YMCA Foundation

  • Algona Public Library

  • Algona Revitalization Project (Movie Theatre)

  • Active Senior Citizens of Algona, Inc.

  • Bancroft Community Foundation, Inc.

  • Countryside Community Playhouse

  • Exceptional Opportunities, Inc.

  • First Congregational Church Endowment Fund Trust

  • First Congregational United Church of Christ of Algona

  • Friends of Bishop Garrigan

  • Friends of Union Slough

  • Gopher College Rugby Football Club

  • Haggard-Twogood Charitable Trust

  • Howard and Katherine Hoenk Foundation

  • Iowa Legal Aid Foundation

  • Iowa Legal Aid

  • Kossuth County Community Foundation

  • Kossuth County Economic Development Corporation

  • Kossuth County Nature Center Foundation

  • Kossuth Regional Health Center Foundation

  • Madden-Mallory Foundation

  • Palo Alto County Economic Development Corporation

  • Pheasants Forever

  • Stinson Prairie Arts Council

  • Sullivan Building Foundation, Inc.

  • W. D. Ley Foundation

  • Willard and Ella Thompson Trust